How to Leave a Slack Workspace

Being a member in too many workspaces could get overwhelming, especially if you’re not an active member. Your best option is not to ignore those workspaces but to leave them. Due to the unique nature of Slack, the process of leaving a workspace isn’t as simple as other platforms, and that’s why we have written this guide.

This post shows you the steps with the aid of screenshots to ensure you’re getting each step correctly as you move to leave a Slack workspace. We will also let you know the implications of leaving a workspace. Without further ado, let’s get to it.

The Steps to Leave a Slack Workspace

  • Open the workspace you’d like to leave.
  • Select Profile from the dropdown menu after clicking your profile photo at the top of the screen.
How to Leave a Slack Workspace
  • Select More (…) on the next page under your profile picture.
  • Scroll down to Account settings and click on it.
  • Click Deactivate your account 
steps to Leave a Slack Workspace
  • Click Confirm Password after entering your password.
  • Tap on Yes, Deactivate my account.
  • Select Yes, I want to deactivate my account
  • Finally, click Deactivate my account 

When You Leave a Slack Workspace, What Happens?

You can only return after leaving the workspace if the administrator welcomes you. As a result, make sure you want to leave the workspace and not just sign out. When you leave a Slack workspace, the following happens:

  • You will not be able to remove any of the messages or files you sent.
  • It will not remove your profile information (including name, photo, email, job title, etc.). If you want it removed, ask the workspace owner to contact Slack and request that your profile be removed.
  • The apps you installed in Slack will be disabled. However, they can be enabled again by the owner.
  • Leaving one workspace has no bearing on other workspaces you may be involved in.
  • If you’re the workspace’s principal owner, you can only exit once you’ve transferred ownership to someone else.

Do You Want to Sign Out Instead of Leaving a Slack Workspace?

Signing out of Slack is simple. Click on the workspace name in the top left corner of the screen, then select “Sign out of (workspace name)” from the options list.

temporarily leave Slack Workspace

This, however, only logs you out of that single Slack workplace and on that specific device. You’ll need to take an extra step to sign out fully if you want to sign out from all workspaces on all devices.

This is how you do it.

To sign out of all other devices, follow these steps:

  • On your Mac or PC, launch Slack.
  • Click your name in the left top corner and select “Profile & account” from the dropdown menu.
  • Click the “more options” icon, a box with three dots, underneath your profile image.
  • Scroll down and locate Sign out all other sessions on the next page. Click on it
  • Follow the prompts to complete the action.

Closing Thoughts

Before deactivating your account and leaving a workspace, remember to give it some thought because you need permission to get back in. If your intention is merely to sign out of the workspace, use the guide above to avoid making mistakes.

Leave a Comment