How to Remove Someone From Slack 

There will come a time when you find the need to remove someone from a Slack channel for causing a nuisance or not being relevant to the discourse anymore. Slack allows you (the workplace admin or owner, and in some cases, members) to remove other members. 

Here’s how to limit the number of people in your Slack channel to the few crucial to conversations. This guide provides detailed steps to removing people from your channel. 

Steps to Remove Members From a Slack Channel

For Desktop

1. Open Slack and select the channel where you want to remove someone.

2. See the members icon at the top right corner of the page and click on it.

3. Find the person you want to remove and briefly hover over their name. Click Remove. 

4. Click Remove again to confirm the action. 

For Mobile

Removing Slack members is relatively easy too, but the process is different. You won’t click on the member list like the Desktop option. You will have to type a command. See below. 

1. Enter your workspace where the erring or unneeded member is. 

2. Type the following code in the message input field: /remove @member’s name

3. Tap the paper plane icon or Enter to confirm the action. 

Slack will remove the member in question immediately. Note that there is no option to confirm deletion like on the desktop, so you should double-check yourself to ensure you’re removing the intended person. 

What You Should Know About Removing Members From Slack

Before removing someone from Slack, take note of the following implications or factors.

Anyone Can be Removed From Slack

Anyone can be removed from a Slack channel, provided the person performing the action has the permission to do that. Admins and workspace owners can remove people from public and private channels, and members can remove other members from private channels. 

Removed Members Can be Re-added

All removed members and guests from private channels can be added to the channels again, but they can’t rejoin by themselves. Also, guests need to be added to a public channel to rejoin it. 

Workspace Owners Determine Who Can Remove Members

If you’re an admin or member and can’t remove others from a channel, it could be that the workplace owner hasn’t given you that permission. In that case, go through the owner and ask for help to get it done. 

Removed Members Will be Notified 

Keep in mind that the whole process of removing someone from a channel is not shrouded in secrecy. Alack will notify the person getting the boot. You might want to tell them beforehand about your intentions, so they don’t feel slighted when it happens suddenly. 

Removing a Member is Not the Same as Deactivation

Some workspace owners may confuse these terms. 

On the one hand, when you remove someone from your channel, the removal only applies to that channel. 

On the other hand, deactivating a member’s account ensures they’re removed from all channels, their accounts are signed out from all workspaces, and removed from your organization. 

You Cannot Remove People From the General Channel 

The general channel is the default channel when you create a workplace, and the first channel new members automatically join. You can remove members from other channels you create but not the default channel. 

Closing

Removing someone from Slack is a few clicks away, but consider the factors involved before making that move. Also, check that you’ve selected the intended member before executing on mobile because there is no confirmation like on desktop. 

Leave a Comment