How to Make a Slack Channel Private 

Business relationships and team conversations on Slack evolve, and when they do, it may be necessary to convert your channel to private to keep things confidential. Private channels are for conversations that shouldn’t be available to all members. 

Since you’ve decided to make your channel private, here are the steps to get it done.

The Steps to Make a Slack Channel Private 

Note that the following action is only possible on the desktop. Let’s see… 

  • Open the channel you want to make private. 
  • Click the channel name at the top of the screen. 
  • Tap the Settings option. 
  • Scroll and locate Change to Private Channel.
  • Click the term and confirm. 

Once you complete the process, Slack will convert your existing public channel to a private one. Easy-peasy! 

But what if you don’t want to convert an existing channel? What if you want to create a new private channel? If that’s what you want, use the steps below. 

How to Create a Private Slack Channel 

  • On the menu sidebar, click the + sign on the right side of Channels. 
  • Type your channel name and other details, then activate the Make Private option.
  • Click Create and begin to add members to the new private channel. 

What to Know About Making a Slack Channel Private 

Here are some things you should know before making a Slack channel private:

  • Owners and admins can switch a channel to private by default, but owners can further restrict this permission by prohibiting the creation of private channels. If you’re having trouble making a channel private, contact the owner and ask for assistance.
  • Because it is a default channel, you cannot make the #generic channel private. You can convert only the channels you create.
  • The files that are shared on the channel will not be made private.
  • Channel management tools on the Business+ and Enterprise Grid plans allow owners and admins to change channels to private.
  • When you make a channel private, a notice will appear in the channel to inform participants that the channel visibility has been changed.
  • You won’t be able to make a channel public again once it’s been converted to private. As a result, you must be sure that it is what you want. It is better to open a new private channel if you are unsure.

Leave a Comment